Hiện Đang Truy Cập

We have 465 guests and no members online

This Week
This Month
All days
23:13 _ 19-06-2019

ÂM DƯƠNG LỊCH. xem ngày giờ

World Time

 USA C.A Los Angeles

USA - TX - Houston 

Canada Toronto

 Germany Berlin

Việt Nam – Sài Gòn

Japan Tokyo


Australia - Sydney  



HOT Weather

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

The Five Precepts


The five precepts are the guidelines and ethical foundation of a practicing Buddhist. Buddha created these precepts to suppress any wrongdoings from the body, speech (mouth), and thoughts. When a Buddhist takes refuge in the three jewels, he also makes a commitment to live his life in accordance with these 5 precepts:

1. Not killing: One has to honor all living beings' existence: As a Buddhist, one should not harm any living creatures. By practicing this precept, one obtains compassion. By knowing how to love, care, and respect the lives of those around one, one will not develop enemies. As a result, one will be able to create a peaceful and harmonious lifestyle for oneself and for those around one.

2. Not stealing: One has to respect other people's properties. Do not take that which is not given to you. If one commits an act of thievery, one will live one's life always worrying about whether one will get caught

by the law. By practicing this precept of not stealing, one will live a joyous lifestyle, free of any guilt or suspicion.

3. Not committing improper sex acts: A person has to respect his family's happiness, as well as the happiness of other families. This means one has to be faithful and loyal to one's spouse. Do not have an affair with another person. By practicing this precept, one will be able to bring trust and true happiness into one's family's relationship.

4. Not lying or saying harmful things: One has to honor the truth. Telling a lie or saying bad things about someone will bring harm to oneself and to others. If one lies to friends, they will no longer trust and believe in you. Thus, it might end friendship.Telling lies or saying harmful things about family members will break-up a family. As a Buddhist, one has to learn to speak onlythe truth. Be wise in one's choice of words. There's always two ways to tell things to somebody: Being inconsiderate by using words that hurt their feelings; and being understanding by using soothing words to help them. By practicing this precept, one will receive the love, confidence, trust, and closeness of family, friends, and others around one.

5. Not taking alcohol or intoxicants: Always keep one's mind and body clear, calm, and collected. Any intoxicants will cause an imbalance in the body system, causing one's senses, reflexes, and thoughts to be altered. It is very difficult to control oneself when one is under the influence of intoxicants. Thus, one's actions may endanger one's life or the innocent lives of those around one. For example, if one drinks and drives, it is very easy for one to cause accidents to occur. Such accidents may lead to injuries or even deaths. Not only can the five precepts help and guide one individually in one's everyday life, they can

also bring about happiness and harmony to society.

II. daily practice:

These five precepts need to be followed so one's mind will be pure of any wrongdoings or selfish acts. Therefore, all one's inner strength (will power) is needed to suppress any temptations that will keep one from living by these 5 precepts. In order to be committed to these 5 precepts, one should understand the meaning of each precept. Only you can make yourself live accordingly to these 5 precepts; there is nobody

around that will check-up to make sure one is following them. Only you will know if you are

able to keep any of them. Thus, one has to:

1. be honest with oneself

2. be confident that it is possible for one tokeep the 5 precepts. Each morning before one gets out of bed, makean inner promise to oneself: "Today, I have to live exactly by the 5 precepts:. Then, each night before one goes to sleep, evaluate oneself to see which precept one was not able to keep and vow that one will not make that mistake again.